A little background to Prince William’s Earthshot Prize 2021

In 2020, Prince William launched The Earthshot Prize, a prestigious global environmental award aimed at discovering, accelerating, and scaling solutions to repair the planet over the next decade. This initiative arrives at a critical juncture as the world grapples with a climate crisis, emphasizing the urgency for immediate action and heightened awareness of environmental issues.

This year, the third annual Earthshot Prize awards ceremony will premiere in the United States on PBS. The event will highlight the inspiring stories of nominees and showcase how everyone can contribute to environmental stewardship. It will cover efforts to keep air and oceans clean, preserve natural habitats, and promote sustainable living, demonstrating the collective impact individuals can have on the future of our planet.

Prince William with award presenters Hannah Waddingham, left, Cate Blanchett, right, and Sterling K. Brown. Pic: AP

Prince William, in an interview with The Guardian, emphasized the prize’s mission, stating,”

… I think that urgency with optimism really creates action. And so the Earthshot Prize is really about harnessing that optimism and that urgency to find solutions to some of the world’s greatest environmental problems.”

Prince William

The Five Earthshots

The Earthshot Prize focuses on five Earthshots. Every year, the Earthshot Prize will be awarded to those with the most innovative solutions to each Earthshot. Explore the Earthshots below:

Protect and Restore Nature

Clean Our Air

Revive Our Oceans

Build a Waste-Free World

Fix Our Climate

What Is The Earthshot Prize Award?

£1 million will be awarded to five solutions each year with The Earthshot Prize helping to scale each solution with investment and mentorship from its Global Alliance, a network of organizations committed to supporting The Earthshot Prize’s goals.

Each year, international nominators help identify the most impactful solutions across the five Earthshots and all nominations are assessed by an Expert Advisory Panel.

Source: Earthshot Prize